What is Qigong?

Qigong means “Life Energy Cultivation”, is part of Chinese Traditional Medicine, a holistic  healing system of coordinated body posture and movement, breathing, and meditation used for health & wellbeing.

According to Taoist, Buddhist and Confucian phylosophy, Qigong allows access to higher realms of awareness, awakens one’s “true nature”, and helps develop human self-healing potential.


Dan-tian is an area that can be mined for treasure or minerals. The three Dan-tian are the primary locations within our energetic anatomy where qi is collected, transformed and circulated. The literal translation of Dantian is “cinnabar field,” and they have a function, in Taoist practice, similar to the function of the Chakras used in Hindu yoga practice. The most important of the three Dantian is the lower Dantian, located in the lower abdomen, 1.5 cun below the navel.

The four pillars of qigong practice:

  • Proper breathing
  • Correct  alignment
  • Movement in conjunction with the breath
  • Using the mind to direct the qi.